Moot Court Competition - Royal Institute of Colombo

Moot Court Competition

Moot Court Competition

RIC Premises:  5th to the 8th of April 2018.

(From left to right)  Mr. Harish Balakrishnan, Ms. Kefra Fernando, Ms. Iranthi Walgama, Mr. Minul Muhandiram, Mr. Nishadh Iqbal

Royal Institute of Colombo Shines at The H V Perera QC Memorial Moot Court Competition

It is with great pleasure The Royal Institute of Colombo (RIC) announces the recent success of its mooting team, Chamber of Laws’ at the H V Perera QC Memorial Moot Court Competition, held from the 5th to the 8th of April 2018. The H V Perera QC Memorial Moot (Victor’s Moot) is the pioneering International Moot Court Competition in Sri Lanka, initiated by the Moot Society of Sri Lanka Law College.

The distinguished panel of arbitrators who adjudged the competition included Professor Romesh Weeramantry, Mr Faiz Musthapha PC, Dr Kanag-Isvaran PC (President of the Tribunal), Professor Sri Lal Perera and Dr Harsha Cabral PC. There was enormous pressure heaved upon the team by the arbitrators which the RIC team reciprocated with equal vigour, and was commended by the panel for their synergy, composure and well-prepared nature taking into account this being the team’s first ever moot competition.

The RIC mooting team comprising of Kefra Fernando, Iranthi Walgama, Harish Balakrishnan, Minul Muhandiramge and Nishadh Iqbal broke into semi-finals after facing 4 preliminary rounds as the only team representing Sri Lanka, and after rigours and thorough mooting at Semi-finals against The National Law University of Jodhpur, the RIC team along with The Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab were selected to compete at the Finals, where the RIC mooting team secured the position of Runner-Up and was very much commended by the panel of arbitrators for their overall presentation.
The team spirit and collaboration with their diverse set of skills and talents steered the team to its success and were greatly supported by their coach Miss Nayanthara Balapatabendi, who worked tirelessly to fortify and enhance the team along with other lecturers at RIC including Mr Minura Ahangama, and Mr Amila Siriwardena.

Eight Sri Lankan teams from both national and private education institutes competed for the coveted title, along with six teams from prominent universities in India, and two other teams from Pakistan and Thailand.